About Us

About us

研究部会の紹介

updated 7 March 2018

About the Learner Development (LD) SIG

 

学習者ディベロプメント研究部会について

The Learner Development SIG is a network with just over 200 members around the world who have an interest in developing and researching practices that aim to support autonomous learning and teaching. We share a commitment to exploring connections between:

  • our experiences as learners & our practices as teachers
  • learners’ experiences inside & outside the classroom.

We offer chances to get connected with other teachers, students and researchers through:

  • our bilingual newsletter Learning Learning
  • an email announcements list and other online resources
  • local area get-togethers in different parts of Japan
  • a forum (and great party!) at the annual JALT conference
  • links with similar groups in other parts of the world.

Our research-based publications include Autonomy You Ask! (2003), More Autonomy You Ask! (2006), Realizing Autonomy (2011), Learner Development: Different Cases, Different Interests (2014) and Collaborative Learning in Learner Development (2014). We also provide a variety of grants to help educators without institutional support to attend the JALT CALL conference, PanSIG, and annual JALT international conference, conduct research, and carry out projects.

学習者ディベロプメント研究部会は、オートノミーの ある学習と教授を支援することを目的とした実践をさらに発展させ、研究することに関心のある者約200名が、世界中から集まって組織する研究部会です。次の点における関連性の探求に尽力します。

  • 学習者としての経験と教師としての実践
  • 学習者としての教室内外での経験

次を利用して、教師、学生、研究者間のネットワークを広げます。

  • 二ヶ国語ニュースレター「学習の学習」
  • メールリスト、オンライン資料
  • 日本各地における地区別集会
  • JALT年次大会におけるフォーラム(そして大懇親会!)
  • 他国の同様のグループとの連携

SIGの研究を基にした出版物として、Autonomy You Ask! (2003)、More Autonomy You Ask! (2006)、 Realizing Autonomy (2011)、Learner Development: Different Cases, Different Interests (2014) 、Collaborative Learning in Learner Development (2014) があります。また、他の組織から研究助成を受けていない教育関係者へは、JALT CALL学会・PanSIG・JALT国際学会への出席や、研究、プロジェクトを支援する様々な助成金制度もあります。

Learner Development (LD) SIG Officers 2018


2018年度の執行委員会

The Learner Development SIG’s activities are the work of officer teams committed to a collaborative approach to personal and professional development. LD committee members work in pairs and groups to share ideas, talk, and learn together through organising the SIG’s activities.

学習者ディベロップメント研究部会(LD SIG)の活動は、個人として、また教育者・研究者としての成長にコミットする、各運営チームの協同によって支えられています。LD運営委員会では、ペアやグループワークを通じて、互いにアイデアを出し合い、話し合い、またお互いに学びあう中でSIGの様々な活動を推進しています。

These include putting on learner development events through the year (forums at various conferences, local get-togethers in Hiroshima, Kansai, and Tokyo), producing regular publications (a biannual newsletter, Learning Learning, as well as an annual journal, (The Learner Development Journal), and providing various grants (conference, project, research) for SIG members without institutional support. Other key areas of committee activity involve publicity, membership, treasury, and maintaining the SIG’s different websites and online presence (for example, Facebook, mailing lists).

SIGの主な活動には、学習者ディベロップメントに関するイベント(各種学会でのフォーラム運営、広島・関西・東京でのget-togetherなど)の開催、定期刊行物の製作・発行(年2回発行のニュースレター『学習の学習』、年1回発行の機関誌『The Learner Development Journal』)、さらに所属機関からの資金的サポートのないSIGメンバーを対象とした各種学会・プロジェクト・研究への助成金を通じた支援があり、他にも広報・メンバーシップ・会計の各運営、チームとしての活動、SIGウェブサイトやその他オンラインでのプレゼンすの維持など多岐にわたっています。

For 2018 we look forward to another exciting year of learning together. We hope that many members will take an active part in the PanSIG, JALTCALL, and JALT International conferences, as well as local get-togethers, and contribute to the SIG’s newsletter and journal. It is our great honour too, in celebrating our 25th anniversary, to act as co-sponsor for the 2018 ILA conference in Kobe this coming September.

2018年も部会では興味深いイベントが目白押しです。Pan SIG, JALT CALL、そしてJALT年次国際大会はもちろん、本年度もより多くのメンバーが、地区レベルでのミーティング(get-togethers)や定期刊行物の作成により精力的に参加していただけることを願っています。部会の25周年を迎えるにあたり、9月に神戸で開催される2018年度のILA (Independent Learning Association)年次大会をJASAL (日本自律学習学会)と共同主催として運営することができるのも本部会にとって大きな喜びです。

If you are interested in joining the LD committee and helping the SIG continue developing its many different activities, please contact any committee member or one of the co-coordinators. Many thanks – we’re looking forward to hearing from you!

最後に、当研究部会では、委員会に所属し、ボランティアとしてお手伝いいただける会員の方を随時募集しています。部会の運営に興味のある方がいらっしゃいましたら、ホームページに掲載のメールアドレスから委員会コーディネーター、又は、スタッフにご連絡ください。

Co-coordinators

  • Yoshio Nakai: uminchufunto AT MARK gmail dot com
  • Koki Tomita: tomita.koki AT MARK gmail dot com

Treasury Team

  • Huw Davies: h.davies1 AT MARK gmail dot com

Membership Team

  • Ann Flanagan: ritskyoto AT MARK mac dot com
  • Barrie Matte mattebarrie AT MARK gmail dot com

Programme Team

  • Blair Barr: digger75ca AT MARK yahoo dot ca (chair)
  • Robert Morel: rcmorel AT MARK gmail dot com

ILA 2018 Conference Team

  • Steve Brown: stevebinjapan AT MARK gmail dot com
  • Ann Mayeda: ann.mayeda AT MARK gmail dot com
  • Hisako Yamashita: hisakoyamashita AT MARK gmail dot com

Grants Team

  • Jenny Morgan: jennyromain AT MARK yahoo dot com
  • Kris Sullivan: kristenmareesullivan AT MARK gmail dot com
  • Satomi Yoshimuta: yoshimuta.satomi AT MARK gmail dot com

Publications

  • Interim Publications Chair: Andy Barfield ~ barfield dot andy AT MARK gmail dot com
  • Shadow & support: James Underwood ~ jamesmichaelunderwood AT MARK gmail dot com

Learning Learning Editorial Team

  • Andy Barfield: barfield dot andy AT MARK gmail dot com (editor, members’ voices)
  • Chika Hayashi: c-hayashi AT MARK hotmail dot com (editor, translation coordinator)
  • Tokiko Hori: thori AT MARK soka dot ac dot jp (editor, translator)
  • Ken Ikeda: kodanukiAT MARK gmail dot com (editor, grant awardee essays)
  • Fumiko Murase: fumikomurase AT MARK gmail dot com (editor, grant awardee essays)
  • Yoshio Nakai: uminchufunto AT MARK gmail dot com (editor, translator)
  • Daniel Hougham: d.hougham AT MARK gmail dot com (editor, digital content)
  • Hugh Nicoll: hnicoll AT MARK gmail dot com (editor, webmaster)
  • Sean Toland: seanhtoland AT MARK gmail dot com (editor, grant awardee essays)
  • Koki Tomita: tomita.koki AT MARK gmail dot com (editor, translator)
  • James Underwood: jamesmichaelunderwood AT MARK gmail dot com (editor, layout)

Learner Development Journal Steering Group

  • Tim Ashwell: tashwell AT MARK komazawa-u dot ac dot jp
  • Darren Elliot: darrenrelliott AT MARK gmail dot com
  • Alison Stewart: stewart1411 AT MARK gmail dot com

Learner Development Journal editors

  • Issue 1: Darren Elliott, Hugh Nicoll
  • Issue 2: Chika Hayashi, (Patrick Kiernan), Masuko Miyahara
  • Issue 3: (Christina Gkonou), Yoshio Nakai, Jim Ronald
    • Note: () = not members of the LD-SIG committee mailing list

Publicity Team

  • Nicole Gallagher: nicolemariegallagher AT MARK gmail dot com

Illustrator

  • Rob Moreau: rmoreau2 AT MARK mac dot com

Web Maintenance and Development

  • Main LD SIG website
    Hugh Nicoll: hnicoll AT MARK gmail dot com
  • The Learner Development Journal website
    Darren Elliot: darrenrelliott AT MARK gmail dot com

Get-Together Teams

Hiroshima

  • Jim Ronald: jmronald AT MARK gmail dot com

Kansai

  • Agnes (Agi) Patko: ldkansaigettogethers AT MARK gmail DOT com

Tokyo

  • Andy Barfield: barfield.andy AT MARK gmail DOT com
  • Ken Ikeda: kodanuki AT MARK gmail DOT com
  • Jenny Morgan: jennyromain AT MARK gmail DOT com

Committee Members at large

  • Lee Arnold: washizora AT MARK gmail dot com
  • Matthew Coomber: mcoomber AT MARK hotmail dot com
  • Dexter Da Silva: dasilva AT MARK keisen dot ac dot jp
  • Ian Hurrell: taffstar2003 AT MARK gmail DOT com
  • Bill Mboutsiadis: billmboutsiadis AT MARK gmail dot com
  • Mike Nix: mikenix1 AT MARK gmail dot com